Guide to Georgia auto insurance

Posted by:

Driving a vehicle in the state of Georgia means you will need to carry minimum amounts of auto insurance fore registered vehicles in order to meet the Financial Responsibility Act of the state. Failure to carry the mandatory auto insurance can result in stiff fines, the loss of your driving privileges, or even jail time.

The minimum requirements of liability auto insurance required by the Georgia Department of Safety are $25,000 in Bodily Injury to cover one injured party involved in the accident, with $50,000 maximum per accident.

The coverage must also include $25,000 to cover property damage. The coverage is often referred to as 25/50/25 coverage. 25/50/25 coverage is the amounts that the auto insurance company is willing to pay if the insured is involved in an accident.

Georgia law does allow for exemptions to the auto insurance law. The exemptions include:

– Termination of vehicle lease
– Vehicle was repossessed or stolen
– Owner relocation to another state
– Transfer of vehicle ownership out of state
– Vehicle is stored or used seasonally
– Vehicle was junked, wrecked, or savaged

Georgia auto insurance rates can vary greatly from person to person. Average auto insurance rates are $133 per month. Many factors can affect the rate, and your premium may be higher or lower. Age, type of vehicle, prior insurance history, credit score, and driving record can all affect your auto insurance premiums.

Comparing rates is always a good idea. Doing so can save you hundreds of dollars each month on your auto insurance rates. This can quickly and easily be done online in just a few short minutes.

In addition to the state required coverage, many people feel more secure with additional coverage. Uninsured/under-insured motorist coverage is highly recommended. This insurance can help with the costs of medical bills and car repairs if you are involved in an accident with a motorist without auto insurance or enough coverage.

PIP (Personal Injury Protection) is also recommended and can help cover the costs to your automobile in an accident. Both of these additional policies can be added for a few more dollars per month to the state required coverage.

Auto insurance is the law in Georgia. Protect yourself and insure your vehicle has car insurance on it at all times. Driving without insurance is a criminal offense;its not worth the risk.

by Amanda Grace

Leave a Reply

Your Name: (required)

Your Email: (will not be published) (required)

Your Website:

Your Message:

submit comment